C*Fit Tip: Throw out the Diet Books


Yep, that’s right. Throw them out. Actually, recycle them…we could end up using it as toilet paper one day!

The Back Story

I’m teaching an 8-week course on how to create your own healthy lifestyle and live a life of freedom and happiness. Sounds intense, but it’s actually been a lot of fun! I have been fortunate enough to watch 15 women start to change from the inside out. I’ve seen a few “A-Ha” moments as Oprah would say. Let me share one from last night.

Last night after the workshop, one of the women told me that after our Nutrition Workshop, she decided to throw out all of her diet books. Well, recycled them. She said, “Caitlin, I want you to know that I threw out ALL of my diet books this weekend. I realized I had enough of this. I don’t need them. No more food rules. No more calorie counting. I’m done. AND, I’m not donating them because I don’t want them to be in the hands of anyone else. AND I actually ripped one to shreds because that was the worst one.”

I felt like a proud C*Fit mama. It’s amazing to have heard that come from her. A past chronic dieter and a Weight Watchers frequent said out loud that she threw out the books AND wants to stop counting points. AHHHH!!!!!! WOOHOO!!!  FOOD FREEDOM and the freedom to decide what it is that is right for you….that’s what it is all about.

I walked away from that night SO inspired, proud, and genuinely moved by what she told me.

While looking through Pinterest today, I decided to look up the word “diet” and see what pins popped up. I found this pin and it ignited a fire inside me.

Image

These types of pins should be banned. Seriously. This way of thinking is outrageous and completely disrespectful to our bodies, minds, and SPIRITS. 

The message through this pin is, “Just say no to food”. How sad is it that we live in a world where we feel bad for the kids in 3rd world countries who are malnourished but we celebrate the thinness/malnourishment of women? Will power, control, or just plain neglect of your body…it doesn’t matter. It’s not setting a good example for the young women and men in this country. It’s really screwed up if you ask me.

I digress….

Throw out the diet books. Get real with yourself. Accept and embrace the word freedom. And when you see a pin like that on Pinterest, don’t re-pin that, don’t “like” it, and don’t buy into that crappy way of thinking. Instead comment on it and fight back. Change must begin within ourselves.

Do Things That Make YOU Feel Good.

-Caitlin *

 

One thought on “C*Fit Tip: Throw out the Diet Books

Leave a Reply

